Carole Matthews

Carole Matthews is the bestselling author of more than 25 hugely successful romantic comedy novels. Her unique sense of humour has won her legions of fans all over the world. Her books, A Cottage by the Sea and Calling Mrs Christmas have both appeared in the top ten of the Sunday Times bestseller list. Her novels Welcome To The Real World and Wrapped Up In You were shortlisted for the RNA Romantic Novel of the Year award. She was also inducted into The Festival of Romance Hall of Fame for her outstanding contribution to romantic fiction.Carole is a prolific writer of short stories, featuring in several anthologies, and has presented on television. She's also a regular radio guest.Born in St Helens, Merseyside, Carole has always been an avid reader and dreamed of being a teacher, an air traffic controller, a travel guide or a hairdresser - writer never featured once. Leaving Liverpool for London after a torrid holiday romance in Torquay, she worked as a secretary, an ice-cream lady, a shop assistant and a beauty therapist. It was when she was working in a completely mad holistic clinic that she first thought 'one day I should write a book about this.' She still hasn't got round to it. Entering a short story competition in Writing Magazine, the first fiction she'd written since being coerced into it at school, Carole - to her and everyone else's amazement - won a thousand pounds! Then - to her and everyone else's amazement - she spent the money, not on shoes and handbags, but on a writing course. The tutor on the course liked what she was writing and recommended an agent who took her on straight away. He sold her first book, which became Let's Meet on Platform 8, a week later. Previously very unlucky in love, she now lives happily ever after with her partner, Lovely Kev, at Matthews' Towers in the Costa del Keynes. She likes to drink champagne, eat chocolate, bake cake and spends far too much time on Facebook and Twitter.

Find Carole: WebsiteFacebookTwitter


  1. Let's Meet on Platform 8 (1997)
  2. A Whiff of Scandal (1998) aka The Scent of Scandal
  3. More to Life Than This (1999)
  4. For Better, for Worse (2000)
  5. A Minor Indiscretion (2001)
  6. A Compromising Position (2002) aka Bare Necessity
  7. The Sweetest Taboo (2003)
  8. With or Without You (2004)
  9. You Drive Me Crazy (2005)
  10. Welcome to the Real World (2006)
  11. The Chocolate Lovers' Club (2007) Chocolate Lovers #1
  12. The Chocolate Lovers' Diet (2007) Chocolate Lovers #2
  13. It's a Kind of Magic (2008)
  14. All You Need Is Love (2008)
  15. That Loving Feeling (2009)
  16. The Difference a Day Makes (2009)
  17. It's Now or Never (2010)
  18. The Only Way is Up (2010)
  19. A Christmas Fling (2011)
  20. Wrapped Up In You (2011)
  21. Summer Daydreams (2012)
  22. With Love at Christmas (2012)
  23. A Cottage by the Sea (2013)
  24. Calling Mrs Christmas (2013)
  25. A Place to Call Home (2014)
  26. The Christmas Party (2014)
  27. The Cake Shop in the Garden (2015) Cake Shop #1
  28. The Chocolate Lovers' Christmas (2015) Chocolate Lovers #3
  29. Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses (2016)
  30. The Chocolate Lovers' Wedding (2016) Chocolate Lovers #4
  31. Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights (August 2017) Cake Shop #2